Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Hoping for better days
Anon_231862 posted:
Hello. I am new to the online discussion experience. Lately, I have had some things on my mind but no one to talk to.

I have had a tough time medically since '97. Only now being 26 yr. old and having been diagnosed with encephalitis, multiple sclerosis and now lupus and congestive heart failure, I guess I have gone through the ringer. The first two diagnoses have been dismissed and now it is just lupus and CHF.

For a while now, I have been dealing with what I think is depression. But it doesn't seem to be solely related to the symptoms of Lupus and CHF. It's other things. What is my life going to be like in the future? How am I going to be in a relationship and be close to someone? Am I still going to be able to work years from now? I find that I isolate myself from others. I'm too tired to do much of anything. When I am have a decent day and feel like going out, I can only do one thing before getting really tired and have to go back home to rest.

Right now, work is ok and I enjoy what I do. But that's all that I really have the energy to do. I feel that I am just going through the motions - I'm just HERE and nothing more. Sometime I feel that I probably need to seek counseling, but other times I think that the way I'm feeling is not as serious as I perceive it to be. If I were my therapist/counselor, I would tell me to get over it - it could be worse, much worse. This is how I feel.

Is there anyone else out there who has experienced this or something similar.

Julendo responded:
I would say you definitely are depressed, and that your depression is probably a bigger obstacle to having a relationship even than your physical illnesses. As for work, that is less dependent on your mood but being so depressed certainly won't make things any easier.