Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Frustrated! And Losing Hope! Any Advice Helps!
megrog33 posted:
I was diagnosed with Lupus in 2002. I was a freshman in high school and at first it was difficult and annoying, but as a young person, I pushed through and persevered. I was on the soccer team, the softball team and always stayed active and overall healthy. In 2006 my Lupus was officially in remission and I could not have been happier! I graduated high school, I went to college! In October 2009 I got married to my high school sweetheart and he is amazing! In December 2010 I earned my Bachelors degree in Psychology and I was so ready to take on the world! However, in March of this year, I woke up one morning with a strange condition. My feet were so swollen I could not fit into my shoes. I thought, hmmmm...maybe arthritis? I have had arthritis this bad before. But to be sure, I went to my regular care Physician and he prescribed a diuretic because he said it looked like I was retaining water. No change! I had just been to my rhuematologist at the beginning of March and everything was fine! But to be sure, I called him. He said to come in right away. He did blood work, looked me over, and said he would call. The next few months were hell. My Lupus was back, except this time...it was attacking my kidneys. Not just to the point where it was at the beginning stages, I was at Stage IV which is just below about kidney failure. I wasn't sure what to think. The next few months consisted of doctors offices, a kidney ultrasound, kidney biopsy, treatment which was decided should be Cytoxan,4 chemotherapy treatments, nausea, vomiting, feeling better, then shingles! Stopped treatment of chemo because my WBC was soo low! Now I am on 60mg. of prednisone and transitioning over to Cellcept for long term treatment. I am swelling again and the side effects from the prednisone are horrible! I had to quit my job of 3 years to rest and take time off, but I was