Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
New and so lost
ewalton1532 posted:
Hello all,

I am new to this and I must say finding this support could not have come at a better time. I was diagnosed with lupus about 10 months ago and it has been quite a struggle. I have been on my own since I was 19 (22 now) and work full time to support myself. I am not close with my family and they do not know of my illness. Since my diagnosis I have been so lost and scared. I try and take care of myself the best I can but it just seems like I have no idea what I am doing. I feel so helpless and frustrated at times that I have so many questions that go unanswered. Not really sure where I intended to go with this post but I just wanted to say that this community has been a big help to me lately. It is good to feel not so alone I guess. Thank you.

1stLadyDi responded:
Welcome. I don't know a whole lot about this chronic illness as I am just learning myself. I was diagnosed/confirmed with lupus about 1 year ago now, was taken aback by the diagnosis for a few months (almost in denial), then began searching for more info on the disease that was explained in layperson's terms. This is how I came to this support group and really appreciate it. While I do have family & others near to me, there is not much understanding, as most cannot relate, and/or are in denial (or want me to be) that I actually have lupus. If anything, it is comforting to know that I am not alone and oftentimes, I receive some practical advice that has been able to help me through this support. I pray that you are able to get the assistance that you desire, need, and deserve through others in this battle with you through this support group. God bless you, dear.

lisaisweavebee responded:
Hi and Welcome!!