Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Needing Help, I'm in Africa
SafariMom posted:
Hello Everyone,

My name is Bonnie and I am a nurse, and Missionary in Tanzania, Africa. Long story short... I believe that I have Lupus (SLE) and currently going through a Lupus flare. My medical care here is very limited. We are flying back to America next month for treatment.

My biggest concern is that I am having organ involvement. I have mild protein in my urine, with low back (kidney area) pain, and just starting today mild chest pain, (heart area). I just recently tried prednisone for a week, and it did Nothing for my Lupus symptoms (joint pain, sores in my mouth, butterfly rash, sun sensitivity, nerves in legs tingling/numbness, etc.) I just had horrible side effects with the prednisone.

Currently my face is bright red, sensitive with a burning feeling. My face almost feels like it is on fire.
Is this normal with Lupus?

My other concern is my eyes are getting very swollen, especially my eyelids. No swelling anywhere else on my body.

Does anyone have any suggestions?
I do have a clinic nearby where I can get a chest xray if needed.
Would that show up anything?

I would appreciate any replies or help.

Thanks,
Bonnie in Tanzania

NanaJudy6 responded:
Bonnie, I wish I could help you but I am newly diagnosed with lupus SLE.and I too am having just about all the symptoms you are talking about. the rash on my face is just now starting and I have not had the mouth sores but my rheumy asked me twice about both so those symptoms must be prominent.

I have brain and CNS and I believe chest/lung involvement. I have just been started on Plaquenil (?) an antimalaria med that dr says works slow but effective and not so harsh on your body. He prescribd me 200mg bid to be taken together if well tolerated and so far so good.

I hope by responding to you, it will put your post at the top of the page again and maybe someone who knows more will respond to yu.