Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
the pain is to much..
mars45 posted:
Hello ,, i have had lupus for almost a year. and i am on plaquinil twice a day along with other meds. i do have pain medication i can take prn such as lortab. but i dont cause i am a travel nurse and work alot of different shifts. i have been struggling with finding a core job and getting out of traveling. i either work 8 hours eveinings or 12 hours nights or 11am to 11pm. just varies. i have tried hot showers and stretching exercises. but the pain in my back and joints sometimes i have a hard time getting out of bed. and if anyone has suggestions i am open to them .. i dont take the pain medication cause i cant let it alter me. and does make me tired..
just frustrated and didnt know if it is going to be like this for ever and will always hurt.. really tired of this..

thanks

mars45

SafariMom responded:
Hi Mars45,

I am also a nurse, although I haven't been in the field for 6 years. I am staying home with the kids now. But I just wanted to say that I am sorry that you are hurting. The only thing that I could suggest is switching to a different area of nursing. Not sure if you are med/sug, ICU, or what, but I know how hard nursing jobs are on your body. You are on your feet A LOT, your body pushes, pulls, bends, stretches, etc. If there is any way that you could give your body a rest for a while, then it may help.

Good luck !!!

Bonnie

anowlin responded:
Hi mars,

You've run into a bunch of nurses, eh? It's hard to be a nurse with lupus because of the pain. I had sjogren's when I was nursing and then about the same time as it became lupus, I stopped working; that was about 14 years ago and I really miss working. And working in nursing.