Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

We will be discontinuing this community as of April 1, 2014. We value and appreciate your participation in this community and hope that you will continue to post your questions in the WebMD Cancer Community.
shocked by diagnosis
cfnyc posted:
Hi everyone, it's my first time here. I'm a 35 year old mom of 2 little ones. I was caught completely off guard by a nurse's phone call yesterday that my biopsy was positive for malignant melanoma ... it was .19mm, and from what I've been reading that's "good." I went to the derm at a friend's suggestion to get a full body check. I never liked the looks of this particular spot on my calf, but no one seemed particularly concerned. I was just looking at the ABCDE and honestly it really doesn't fit with any of them. In the back of my head I'm thinking this is the wrong diagnosis. But I'm sure it's probably right. It was much darker than my other spots. The derm didn't even think it was going to be bad enough to even go get the edges cut off (clark's?) and it's melanoma? that's one of the reasons I was shocked. I'm worried about the other spots on my body now ...I'm not seeing another dr for another week and a half and I'm worried in the meantime. I would love them to re-read the slides and say, whoops we were wrong. Sorry. I'm olive skinned dark eyes/dark hair .... I feel like this is so rare it can't be right. Maybe I'm just in denial. Thanks for "hearing" me out!

Elizabeth_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hello Cfnyc and Welcome -

I can not imagine the shock and disbelief from this phone call. I am so sorry to hear about this and having to wait over a week for more information. Your head must be spinning with questions.

Perhaps you can call and ask to sit down with the doctor to go over the results and get more information or call the other doctor and ask for a sooner appointment.