Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Hair loss and Menopause
Anon_18674 posted:
I went through menopause four years ago. I noticed the hair on my legs thinning and now it is completely gone. The same thing is beginning to happen with the underarm hair and the hair on my forearms is getting very thin also. I associated this with menopause because of when it began to happen. I have done some reading on this hair loss and some of what I read stated this could be a cause for concern. I am new to my area and still trying to get established with a doctor. I really wan't concerned about it until I started reading about it...that'll teach me. Anyway, has anyone else experienced hair loss on legs and underarms after menopause? Thank you.

Anon_6061 responded:
This seems to be fairly common (and a plus) based on conversations I've had with other women. I'm in surgical menopause and on HRT so I can't really compare myself to women in natural meno. My leg and underarm hair definitely grows slower but I have more hair on my arms. I've lost a lot of scalp hair (it's now very thin) and I got some gray overnight. I also lost most of my pubic hair and it grayed quickly. Imagine the horror watching myself age overnight!

Anon_18674 replied to Anon_6061's response:
Thank you for your response. It makes me feel better to have a place to discuss things that go on during menopause. I went through it naturally at a fairly young age so my friends have not yet had any experience and therefore I am not able to talk with them about it.

Mary Jane Minkin, MD responded:
Dear Anon_18674,
Hair loss with menopause is fairly common, and not harmful. However, one other hormonal problem also presents commonly with hair loss, and that's thyroid dysfunction. So I usually will check a set of thyroid functions on my patients with significant hair loss.-it's an easy blood test to do, and also easy to fix.
Good luck,
Mary Jane

Chey170 replied to Mary Jane Minkin, MD's response: