Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
7 months and counting ..
An_246914 posted:
My last period was the first week in January 2013. These 216 days since my last period (not that I am counting lol) have been interesting.

Feb, March and April I had bad hot flashes, day and night, they have seemed to settle down to 1 or 2 a day. Some days I feel moody, but really not too bad.

I have no bloating, no cravings, no cramping as I did when I had regular periods.

I have been missing periods since October 2010, long and short cycles during all that time. This is the longest I've gone. I do notice this time I have very little cervical mucus. Not completely dry, but very very little.

I found menopause testing kits at the drug store, only $1 each, claiming to be 99% accurate. I bought one, it was negative. I've now taked 3, they are all negative.

I will be 54 in 2 months, have all the signs of perimenopause, how can these tests be negative ?

Mary Jane Minkin, MD responded:
Dear An_246914,