Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
To HRT or Not
An_254824 posted:
I have never posted to this nor any other discussion group. But I am truly needing some common sense advice. I am 62 years old and have taken some form of HRT since my hysterectomy over 20 years ago. They left my ovaries. However, over the years I struggled with HRT, as it seemed to make me sick to my stomach. I finally tried the patch a couple of years ago and had instant success. However, I did experience the typical weight gain, albeit minor. But the biggest concern that I've had is this sense that my thought processes are sluggish. I'm a professional and my biggest asset is thinking quickly on my feet. It is embarrassing to struggle in this regard. I thought it perhaps age but then I decided to experiment and discontinue the use of estrogen. I found that my response time increased and my thought patterns were faster and much more clear . . . if this makes any sense. But now, I'm left with nasty hot flashes and I developed a case of perioral dermatitis. I understand that hormonal changes cause perioral dermatitis. I've swapped problems. So, first, can HRT cause one to have slow cognitive abilities and aside from the hot flashes, is perioral dermatitis just a coincidence?

Mary Jane Minkin, MD responded:
Dear an_254824,