Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Continuous heavy bleeding.
An_258757 posted:
About 8 months ago, after missing my period the previous month, I started bleeding, I thought it was just my period, but it never stopped, and I have been bleeding heavily non-stop for 8 months now, the blood is full of big clots. I have no idea when my period is anymore as the bleeding is all month and heavy every day. I take iron tablets. I have been for multiple scans, blood tests, examinations under two different gynos. I should mention my hormone levels are normal according to my blood tests. At first I was given tranexamic acid, and that worked well to ease the bleeding to a manageable level so I could have the scans and examinations, but it was not a solution. The attitude at that time was a wait and see if it gets better on its own. Then my second gyno put me on oral progesterone 10mg, and I have been taking those pills every day for a month now, there has been zero improvement and I notice a new symptom of a continuous mild period pain that has been ongoing for a couple weeks now. The bleeding is so bad I don't go on any long journeys or anywhere where there is no bathroom readily available. I keep a spare set of trousers at work as I have had several what I nick-name "blow outs", where the blood (and clots) suddenly gushes so fast its already running down my leg before I can get to a bathroom. It's a nightmare, and the mortification of dealing with this in a work and social environment is extreme. I use between 6-8 bulky overnight pads a day. I rarely get a night's sleep as I have to keep replacing pads throughout the night. I have tried to read as much as I can on my symptoms but I note that most women seem to suffer from heavy periods, and not heavy bleeding that never stops — is my situation rare? I have a lot of questions for my gyno on my next appointment, but there must be some more solutions out there that aren't so extreme! The reaction from both gynos so far is th