Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Hello from Dr. Cynthia Stuenkel
THE NORTH AMERICAN MENOPAUSE SOCIETY
Cynthia A Stuenkel, MD, NCMP posted:
Hello, my name is Dr. Cynthia Stuenkel and I am an Endocrinologist and menopause expert involved for over 20 years in the care and education of women and their healthcare providers. I am also involved in research into the prevention of heart disease and osteoporosis. Menopause is a fascinating field. There's always something new to talk about, and often more questions than answers! I look forward to our exchanges.

Annie_WebMD_Staff responded:
I'd like to welcome Dr Stuenkel to the Menopause Exchange!

I hope you will like it here!

- Annie

An_205829 responded:
Hi, I 51 and into perimenopause. I have been on birth control for at least 30 years. I still have a period . I have tried to just stop taking the pill and use other birth control, but my hair fell out and night sweats and hot flashes killed me. So I continued. I notice now that on the week I am off the pill, my hot flashes, night sweats, and sleeplessness are heck. When I am back on the pill for the 3 weeks the nightsweats etc. are minimal. One doctor has said I should get off the pill and just try HRT and that continuing to take the Pill is causing my periods to continue. My Internist said that me being on the pill does not affect my menopause situation. I don't have high blood pressure, do not smoke and am not overweight. My questions for you are: is the Pill preventing menopause from happening fully for me and is HRT the same thing as the birth control pill? Thanks so much for any help you can give.

smilinblondi responded:
HI Cynthia, nice to meet you. I look forward to reading your on-going research if you share it on here. I have a family history of both heart disease and osteoporosis and am very interested in what reaseach is finding out for us..... Is Dr Dean Ornish right?
Liz

An_205830 responded: