Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Migraines and the Full Moon
An_239753 posted:
I am a physical therapist who has a rather challenging patient. She states that she gets daily headaches that start at about 11 a.m. and that these headaches get worse during the week of the full moon. Ironically, she can tell me when the full moon is going to occur. Has anyone ever experienced this pattern of headaches?

carpetcrawler5 responded:
Never heard of it, but I can say that it could be because of her period, maybe. Does she have a stressful situation every day about that time? Like on her job? Tell her to drink coffee right away when the pain comes, and every day around that time when she's off.

PamelaPT replied to carpetcrawler5's response:
This patient is elderly and resides in a personal care home. She had a stroke and has had a chronic headache.

carpetcrawler5 replied to PamelaPT's response:
Wondering how you knew that.....are you the same person as An_239753?

PamelaPT replied to carpetcrawler5's response:
No . . . I just signed on looking for plausible answer to her problem. I have never heard of daily migraines which increase in intensity w/ the full moon.

carpetcrawler5 replied to PamelaPT's response:
That still doesn't explain how you knew that-she never stated that her patient was in a personal care home or is elderly.

Wasabibaby responded:
I used to suffer really bad migraines and I would suffer more around the week of a full moon. I can still tell when the full moon is going to happen because about a day or two before full moon, I often get the throbbing sensation behind one eye and my vision is blurry. There are times when the pain is excruciating especially the day before. I have experienced this pattern of migraines since I was 14. It has nothing to do with my hormones or my period, since I have never had a fixed period cycle.

sugarplu replied to Wasabibaby's response: