migraine with aura
An_245465 posted:
My husband suffered a cancerous brain tumor in 1953. They tried to operate but it was too dangerous and the brain was swelling out of the holes. They disolved the tumor with "cobalt" (radiation). He is 64 years old now and has been suffering horrible migraines with aura. Have there been any connections shown between the two? He is also has trouble with verbal communication during this time and feels like he is losing his eyesight during these episodes. Do you have any suggestions? Dr.'s have prescribed medications but they haven't had any success with stopping them. He has metal clips in his head so he can't have a CT scan. Other scans have not shown anything. He is suffering these headaches several times a week and sometimes several times a day.

Caprice_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hi and welcome to WebMD,

I am not an expert but I hope that others here have some thoughts for you.

You say 'other scans'; has he had an MRI? Is he seeing a neurologist? Any neurologist should be working closely with him to find the answers he needs.

Is he on any medication for this?

I'm sorry he's suffering so much and I'm sure this is hard on you too.

grannyfern6 replied to Caprice_WebMD_Staff's response:
Thanks for reading this. He can't have an MRI because of the metal clips in his head. I was confused when I wrote CT scan couldn't be done. He did have a CT scan and nothing out of the ordinary showed up. He was given some medications from a neurologist but they didn't help. The neurologist worked with him for a year and then gave up. Our health care doesn't allow us to just go to anyone so we are stumped as to what to do next. I just was wondering if anyone else had migraines after brain tumor and what, if anything, helped.

jenlewi responded: