Skip to content
In need of some help!!!!
northernhoney posted:
Im new at this so hang in there. I am a 33 year old female and i live in Illinois i have had migraines for the last 15 years and they have put me on so many different medications. I have 3 children ages range from 12 to 6. Is there any medications that you all suggest that i try? Now i have tried the imitrex, depakote, blood pressure meds. I am at the end of my rope. Now they have me seeing the pain management doctor that tried radio frequency and it helped but only for a few months. plus he has me on a narco 5\325 but its not working as well as we thought. What else is there out there to try.

itmatsb responded:
You say that you have been on so many different medications, but only list a few. E.g. have you tried Topomax or any anti-depressants? Believe it or not, anti-depressants have pain relieving properties.

If you really have been tried on many meds, then if you have migraines at least 15 days a month and the meds haven't helped you, you should try Botox injections. That's what really helped my migraines when none of the meds worked. Except Petadolex, an herbal one, did help me as well. It's proven to help migraines by about 72% I believe.

Let me know.
Sara

Chris_WebMD_Staff responded:
Hiya,
Welcome. I'm sorry to hear you are having such great difficulty finding some relief.
Give the pain management doctor a chance, I hope something will help you.
Please make sure you share all your concerns and symptoms with that doctor though so he can keep track of what's working a bit and what's not at all.
I hope others will chime in and support you, as we understand how you feel and the frustrations that go with it.
And check out our
Migraines & Headaches Health Center for information.

Again, welcome
Chrissy~

Difficulties are meant to rouse, not discourage. The human spirit is to grow strong by conflict.
-William Ellery Channing

northernhoney replied to itmatsb's response: