Skip to content
headache type? treatment?
lizard_lady_nm posted:
Hi, my name is Natalie. I had an anterior cervical discectomy and fusion C5-7 using the ROI-C cervical cage and artificial bone-seeded sealer of some sort in 2011. I used a bone-growth stimulator post-surgically for about 3 months. At first I thought my recovery was going well but then the back and neck spasms returned, and these blinding headaches started with shooting pain in my skull and eyes. I was trying to return to work but after about 6 months of progressively worsening condition and short term disability exhaustion I had to leave on medical disability, which kills me - I hate not working. Anyway, sorry for rambling, I've never done this before...

I'm still at home 2.5 years later with chronic headaches. My fusion failed - I quit smoking about 2 years before the surgery, so maybe that history contributed to the failure - I'm now 46. Most of my pain feels like it's in the bones of my skull and face and in my eyes. I get these lightning bolts of pain and intense surges of pain into my temples, eyes, right side of my skull, and sometimes this one spot on the crown of my head and/or behind my ears. My cheekbones, eye sockets, eyes, forehead and brows get this deep persistent ache. I also get pain in the back of my skull (deep ache), neck and down my spine to my shoulder blades (burn). Sometimes my scalp is hypersensitive and tender on the right upper side. The pain in the late afternoon until bedtime is often the worst which clusters of shooting/surges of pain with lasting residual pain.