Skip to content
Vitamin D can stop MS
VitaminDman posted:
I am an attorney in Tucson, AZ diagnosed with PPMS 5 years ago. I had active MS lesions at the time of my diagnosis. I was told there was no effective treatment. I then read hundreds of studies and found that an elevated 25(OH)D level was associated with lower icidence of MS. I found mouse studies where vitamin D completely preventsd attempts to induce MS in mice. Based on these, and other, studies, i raised my 25(OH)D level to >100. For the past 4 years I have had no active lesions, verified by 3 gadolinium MRIs. You can view a summary of the research I found at www.vitamindmscure.com, or email me at jdyer@kss-law.com, and I can give you more information.According to the research, there are no side effects associated with raising your 25(OH)D level to between 100-150, and if you read the articles, you will see that vitamin d has an immunomodulating effect that stops white blood cells from attacking your nerves. I'm not a doctor, but this has worked for me, is based on sound studies, and i believe it will help everyone with MS.
Jim Dyer
FirstPrevious12NextLast

swampster1952 responded:
Hello Jim,

Thank you for your heartfelt testimonial for the beneficial effects of vitamin D!

However, it is doubtful that vit. D actually stops MS. It may have in your case, but how would you prove it? Only by stopping taking the vit. D and see what happens, maybe.

I agree that keeping a high level of vitamin D3 in your blood is good for us that suffer from MS. I wouldn't go so far as to say that it stops it however. This idea would give false hope to people who otherwise would take a more aggressive approach to treating their MS.

But as you indicated, taking a lot of Vit. D3 is not going to hurt a "normal" person, and it is inexpensive so why not take it? I take 8,000 IU per day. I am also on Tysabri.

Dave

VitaminDman replied to swampster1952's response: