Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
MS Research and Advancement
Emma_WebMD_Staff posted:
WebMD has put together a video with several doctors who have done some MS Research. The videos explain some of the research and advancement we've had with MS recently.

What our video on MS Research and Advancements .

How do you feel about MS Research? Was there anything in the video that surprised you?

lovesweinerdogs responded:
Hi Dr. Emma, one of the doctors mentioned that the treatments for MS frequently turned out to be also good for the treatment of depression. This sounds interesting-is it possible the chemical imbalances responsible for causing depression may also lead to the nerve problems in MS-in other words, maybe they share a common root cause? Sorry I'm not a scientist-I know what I'm trying to ask, I just don't know how to ask it!
Thanks, Dawn

Emma_WebMD_Staff replied to lovesweinerdogs's response:
Hi Lovesweinerdogs,

I am unsure myself from the video, I am going to ask one of the doctors on board to see if they know. From what I got from the video I think the improvement of the MS symptom helped the depression, but I really can't say that for sure. I'll send our doctors your question and hopefully one of them will answer for us.

Take care,
Emma

Jeffrey A Rumbaugh, MD, PhD replied to Emma_WebMD_Staff's response:
It's probably both. It makes common sense that people who are less symptomatic may feel less depressed. However, depression can be an actual part of an MS diagnosis, just like numbness or weakness or vision loss. Both MS and depression tend to affect young women, so there would be a high rate of patients having both diagnoses even if there were no relationship between the two diagnoses.