Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Includes Expert Content
Ms Treatment therapies and side effects. Your opinion on Best and Worst
Hether85 posted:
What MS treatment(s) are you recieving and how is it working out. any adverse side effects? Best and Worst Treatment options. all opinions welcome. I am a 26yr old female living with relapsing remitting MS. Diagnosed 2.5 Yrs ago, started Betaseron 2 years ago. 1 flare up in past 2 years after starting therapy, (it was stress induced, im a medical student). Intermittent Solumedrol treatments, 1 a Year, 3 day out patient.

Take the Poll

What MS treatment(s) are you recieving and how is it working out. any adverse side effects? Best and Worst Treatment options. all opinions welcome.
  • Betaseron
  • Avonex
  • Copaxone
  • Rebif
  • Gilyena
vote
View Poll Results

Rory26312 responded:
Hi Hether

I have been on Avonex since my diagnosis eight years ago and think it's great. I have had very few side effects and none in recent years.

My neuro wants me to change to Tysabri as I had a flair in Nov and have been having some mild cognitive function loss since. He seems to think that Ty will help with this so I may be in for a change like it or not.

Rory

philly45 responded:
Hi Hether,

I have been on Avonex for 5 years. I had severe symptoms for the first 2.5 years. I was told to stick with it, that it would get better. It did but it still interfers with my Fridays (shot night)and Saturdays. I feel fatigued and often have muscle aches, headache and sometime upset stomach. I still have symptoms but no major flare-ups. MRIs remain unchanged.