Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
MS burn out
An_204959 posted:
hello i am a little confused i have been recently dx with ms . i had an issue with the doc who gave me my dx and went to a new doc this last week. where i was told by him that due to my age (im 43 ) and the fact that i walked in to his office with no aid(i dont use a walker or wheel chair or a cane ) that ms would burn out in 7 to ten years. and that he didnt know if he wanted me to go on meds because of that . i have no experience with this and i only know one person who has ms and we have never talk about it. so it has very much frustrated me . but then in the same breath tells me that he is on the fence about meds and wants me to decide if i want to take or not and to let him know when i come back in a month. I have good days and bad . but he made it sound like i had the flu. but thanks to people like you guys and a great support system i have i didnt fall for this and i have done my research and hopfully have found a new doc that will bewilling to help me.

SBax06 responded:
I was just dx too! But i have never heard of this 'burn out' thing? I'm 23, but i goto a support group and most people there are in their 40's,50's,60's and they are still having syptoms. Some days the come in without aids and the next they're in wheel chairs. I would talk to another Neurologist if i were you, because you dont want to delay treatment! hope this helps

hackwriter responded:
Anon,

Good for you for not believing the doc about "burning out," and good on you for doing your research. Relapsing-remitting MS can start out either with minimal motor damage or with primarily sensory damage such as optic neuritis, numbness and tingling. It isn't all about the legs! And, the whole point of taking a DMD immediately after getting the dx is to slow the progression so that you might not need a walking aid for years and years.