Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
A long, painful week.
rikilynn1982 posted:
I hope you all were able to enjoy the holiday weekend. I was thrilled with the cooler weather that has moved in to the OK, but I didn't get to enjoy it much.

I work as a substitute teacher at the local high school, which usually provides anywhere from 1 to 6 or 7 days of work per month. Last week I worked every day. I usually don't agree to work more than three days straight because it wears me out so badly.

As the week started I was already hurting and tired after battling fatigue and various nerve pain for the last two months, but I agreed to work all week anyway. When you never know when they might call again, you try to work every chance you get. Man, did I ever pay for it though. I'll enjoy it in a few weeks when the paycheck comes in, but the past week brought me to a level of pain and fatigue that I haven't experienced in almost 6 years.

By Wednesday I was exhausted and in so much pain I could barely move my arms to eat dinner. Thursday night I fell asleep about 7pm and didn't wake until 6 am Friday. The eleven hours of sleep certainly helped, but I was still pretty sluggish and in a lot of pain Friday. Again I fell asleep early in the evening and slept all night. The sleep marathon continued through the weekend. All the pain and lack of energy kept me in a bad mood all week. I'm sure there are a few freshmen that might be calling me Miss Cranky-pants from now on.

Tonight I'm not quite so tired, but in even more pain. The joints in my right leg are very painful and feel swollen. What feels like sciatic nerve pain is shooting across the top of my hip. It actually makes it feel like my underwear is too tight! I wouldn't mind a dose of something with codeine in it right about now, but will have to settle for some Tylenol Arthritis. Hopefully it will feel better in the morning, because I can't get to the doc until at least Thursday.