Skip to content
Weakness in legs
freckles1963 posted:
Hi there I was diagnosed with MS 5 yrs ago. Last month I had a mild flare up and was put on 24 pills a day for 3 days of Predisone. I had a horrible reaction to it that started after I was done taking it. Now today I am super weak in my legs and can walk but extremely hard to do and this is what happened last month. I have really been pushing myself and not giving into my fatigue and then the flare up happened last month. Does this sound like another flare up I would hate to go back on Predisone again. Does anyone know of an Rx that helps with the weakness besides the Predisone? I am also taking Ritalin for the fatigue but it isn't helping right now.

hackwriter responded:
Dear freckles,

It does sound like it's another flare. The leg weakness you describe has, for me, always signaled another flare. I'm not a doctor and can't tell you for sure what's going on, but I can give you my opinion based on my own experience with and knowledge about flares and prednisone.

I've always taken oral prednisone for at least three weeks for a flare; I start with eight 10 mg tabs a day for a week (80 mg per day), then taper down by 10 mg every three days until I've taken the last pill. It sounds like you took a much larger dose than that--240 mg a day if you took 10 mg pills--for three days and then stopped without tapering. Suddenly stopping such a high dose can really send your body out of whack and, according to my doctor, you risk adrenal shutdown without tapering off.

What's more, if you were only on prednisone for three days, that's not a long enough course of steroids for a flare anyway, regardless of the dosage, you should have been on a taper for three more weeks at the very least to keep the drug in your system. A steroid treats nerve inflammation, and this brief course you took might not have been enough to quiet it. Since it has been a month since your last flare, this could count as another flare.