Skip to content
Could it be MS?
An_249249 posted:
I'm pretty new to all of this and I don't know much about the disease, other than it's neurological and affects the nervous system. I've had symptoms that appear and go away for the past few months/past year. I'm 29 now. I've just started the diagnosis process and I'm not sure what to expect. I'll just dive into it, I guess. My symptoms are as follows:

-slight memory loss (sometimes I have to re-think half way through a sentence)
-gastro-intestinal syptoms that resemble IBS (gastro-interologist could not find anything definitive so assumed may be IBS)
-headaches (resembling tension headaches) with numbness/tingling on right side of head/face
-occasional minor twitch/stutter on R side as well if I talk too fast (sometimes repeating words to get them out as I stumble over it)
-numbness/tingling in my toes
-dizziness/occasional loss of vision (that I thought was just I stood up too quickly, perhaps)
-dropping things more frequently

I went to primary care dr today and she first mentioned they could all be related to something neurological since my biological mom had MS (she passed away before I found my biological family.....can't remember if she passed specifically from MS or not). She wants to run several tests to rule out vitamin deficiency, etc. She also thought it could be migranes (I also have a history of pulmonary embolism from birth control pills a few years ago....no more hormone anything since). So, everything is just speculation at this point but given my genetics and after doing some reading it would make sense if it is MS. Again, those symptoms aren't present all the time and just minor when they do appear (except the IBS symptoms, those can can be he worst).