Skip to content
What do you think?
Lisasnyc posted:
I believe I was a subject of attempted discrimination. I was diagnosed with MS in 2006. I have been with my employer- a well known retailer- for 12 years. I disclosed my MS in 2007, to upper management (I was a manager at the time) and my fellow managers..

I have never been absent from work due to my MS. I now have a gait issue and tendonitis of the ankle and I now use a cane.. I was approached by my manager-who I used to consider a friend- and asked if I wanted to reduce my hours because they were concerned about my health. I initially considered a 4 day work week with at least 30hrs per week. Then I was told upper management may have to put me in the system as part time. I have always been full time.

I told my manager that I agreed. On my way home from work, I called my manger back and told him not to go forward-I wanted to discuss it with my husband and think about it. I called the department of labor and was told as a long time employee, I would still be eligible for medical benefits but I would not be eligible for sick time, FMLA or vacation time. They also said my hours could also be reduced at will by my employer. Suffice to say, I told my manager I changed my mind.

Surprisingly, I received an email saying "per our discussion, my 4 day work week will begin in a couple of weeks" I replied to the email "fine as long as you are aware that I will be remaining a full time employee at ______ company". In retrospect, I feel I was being discriminated against, manipulated and coerced into giving up my hours and benefit status. I think its because my cane makes my impediment visible.

Productivity is based on 5 criteria. I was # 2 in total volume and # 1 or 2 in the others. There are a total of 7 associates in the store. Therfore, I don't see the reason for reducing my hours.