Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Falling into the rabbit hole of depression
An_256867 posted:
I am a 37 year old teacher who is currently being in the process of loosing my job for false accusations made by my administration. The stress of fighting for my job is starting to strongly affect my heath. I have stopped taking my medication, been trying to get support from the teacher's union, personal attorneys, and family yet I am getting no support from any of them.

I have been diagnosed for 7 years now and yet been to get around all the drama in my life to focus on the dealing with the MS or what is yet to come with the MS.

How do I deal with al this stress coming at me at once. I have given up so much for teaching and now that is being taken away from me in away that is can legally keep from education for ever.

I have given up everything to teach, a personal life, friendships, and now my health. What do I do now that all is being taken away and as a result I am slowly hurting myself by not taking my medication.

To date my life is fighting for a job that no longer wants me and an illness that I am to depressed to deal with the pain from the medication (so I have not been taking it).

hackwriter responded:
You are at a very tough crossroads, and one that I can relate to on some level. I did a similar thing after recovering from my first MS attack: Focused completely on work and after-hours research, lost my sex drive and any desire to date, and had no social life whatsoever. Doing all of that, focusing on only those things that I deemed important, did keep me from falling into a deep depression.