Skip to content
Sleeping with GERD
ArreynGrey posted:
My 3 (almost 4) month old son has GERD, and although we've been managing it with medication, he's had a lot of trouble sleeping. Fortunately, it hasn't affected his weight (he's actually pretty huge-- I think about 17 lbs now), and he's been much happier since we found a medication that works. But when he lies down, even on a decent incline, his breathing gets very wet and congested. I tried elevating the head of his mattress, but either his head flopped forward or he rolled into a corner. One attempted solution led to another, and we ended up finding that the only way he could sleep more than 15-30 minutes was for me to hold him.

So I've been holding him all night since he was about 2 months old. He'll sleep about 2-3 hours at a time that way, but every time I stir, he stirs, and vice versa. Needless to say, we're both exhausted, and his dad has abandoned us for the couch.

My boy is old enough now that we really need to build good sleep habits. But not only do I need to break him of only sleeping on me ( he usually wakes up the instant i even try to put him down), I still have to contend with the GERD. Help?

shoxy responded:
I prob shouldn't say this but.. we slept our daughter on her tummy since 2.5 months. She had GERD and acid reflux and there was no hope otherwise. It fixed that problem.

ArreynGrey replied to shoxy's response:
Dad and I want to try that, but (probably our own fault for trying to make tummy time fun) our LO looks upon being his stomach as play time, and gets very worked up. If that helped your daughter, though, it's certainly worth pursuing more. Thanks!