Skip to content
My 3 month old DD has Torticollis
Anon_125277 posted:
Have you or anyone you know had a child that has this? Im worried that there might be long terms problems. I read some info on WebMD about it. It doesn't see too serious, but I am still worried for my little girl.

Any info you have about it would be helpful.

Thank you

sumis responded:
MY nephew had it .Don't worry he is fine after year of physical therapy .You migh want to check his eyesight as well regularly .My nephew they found out that he was not using his left eye as much as right eye because of tortocallis though he had perfecrt vision on both the eyes .So you might want to check it ,

Anon_125277 replied to sumis's response:
already noticed her eyes...one does seem 'lazy'. She has a referral to have them checked out.

laschutte responded:
Dear Healthcare Consumer:

I am a Doctor of Physical Therapy candidate and would like to address the concerns you have about the diagnosis of torticollis in your daughter. Torticollis is a clinical sign or symptom that can be caused by multiple underlying factors/disorders. The most common of these underlying disorders is congenital muscular torticollis (CMT) and what most infants who have a diagnosis of torticollis suffer from. CMT is a postural deformity that results primarily from the shortening of the sternocleidomastoid muscle (SCM). This muscle is located in the front of your neck and attaches to your collarbone and sternum (breast bone). An infant that suffers from torticollis will display a posturing of head tilt to one side and rotation to the other. In approximately 80-90% of infants with CMT there will be a coexisting condition present known as plagiocephaly (also known as "flattened head syndrome"). Positional plagiocephaly (which can be caused by torticollis) is a condition in which the back or one side of an infant's head is flattened, typically with decreased hair growth in that area. This will often cause some facial asymmetry. Since inf