Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
pain in left lower back and left groin and pelvis worse when laying flat
luvpatch posted:
Hi! I'm new to the community and am excited to be a part of the group. I have osteoarthritis in my back, neck, fingers and recently diagnosed with it in my left knee. Years ago I had 2 fusions of my lower back and a fusion in my neck about 4 years ago. I have been having steroid injections in my knee every couple of months and have been told I will need a knee replacement at some point. I am now having lower back pain and left pelvic/groin pain which I feel intermittently during the day on a regular basis. I'm an Oncology Nurse and work 10 hour shifts and am on my feet nonstop. But at night I have the same pain laying flat in bed and I feel it all night long! I toss and turn and try to get comfortable all night. I initially when to my internal med doctor and I had a pelvic CT scan which was normal. I visited my GYN doctor thinking it was an ovary problem but everything is ok there. I now have a call in to my rheumatologist. Has anyone ever experienced pain in groin and had it be related to arthritis? Could it be related to my knee problem or a problem with the hip? I'm having a terrible time sleeping and I take ambien but the discomfort keeps waking me up. Any tips or suggestions? I'm so upset about this new problem that I now have. Thanks!

davedsel responded:
Hello and welcome.

I have been managing moderate to severe chronic pain for over 35 years. I understand.

Seeing your rheumatologist is your best move now, IMHO.

Keep doing your research, keep moving as much as possible, and keep a positive attitude.

I pray you can get answers and relief soon.
Click on my username or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

-Dave

Featuring Experts

Scott Zashin, MD is a clinical assistant professor at the University of Texas, Southwestern Medical School and maintains a private practice at Presb...More

Helpful Tips