Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
trigger finger surgery
sarahnkids posted:
Hello all! I am new to this discussion group. I was wondering if anyone has had trigger finger surgery and what the healing process was? I was told the stitches would be in for 10-14 days. So if anyone has had his surgery I would appreciate any feedback i could get on this subject.........

taterbug1949 responded:
Hi Sarah, I haven't had the surgery myself but my ex-husband did back a few years ago. His was his thumb though. It took him quite a while until all the feeling came back in his hand. Even now the end of the thumb is still numb feeling. It did take about 10-14 days to take the stitches out. At least now he can use that hand before surgery he couldn't use the hand all. It has straightened out very nicely though. Ann

vdojnky responded:
I am still recovering from my trigger finger surgery on 8/4/08 and it is now 8/11/08. My ring finger was completely locked. My hand still burns and stings where the incision is and my hand is still swollen and is bruised which i was advised is normal for the next few weeks. I was told that the doctor did not advise on my chart of any hand exercises. I read somewhere that if my finger was not completely straight after surgery that I would most likely need therapy but I don't know yet I have my first appointment with the orthopedist 8/21/08. Hope this helps at least somewhat.

bcampos59 responded:
Hi. I just had this surgery on my middle and ring finger the 27th of August. Stitches came out Friday. 10 days. The joint in my middle finger is still tight and hurts but nothing compared to how it felt before surgery. Dr said it would take awhile to get the swelling down and the pain to go away. I have all feeling in my hand, no numbness and very little swelling.

james12756 responded: