Skip to content
what is really safe?
An_243180 posted:
I was just diagnosed and have osteoporosis. am an equestrian...and see that weight bearing exercises are helpful....am i right that riding is for the most part fine on a calm horse? english riding forces you to use the balls of your feet to support your weight and you never really come down on the saddle very hard if you know how to ride....

spine levels came back at .8
neck .6
hips .5

bonebabe responded:
Riding is not considered weight bearing exercise, that is, exercise done while on your feet.

Your scores are unclear to me. Are these T-scores, -T-scores, or something else. Osteoporosis is defined as having a T-score lower than -2.5 or having had a hip or vertebral fracture.

julieg32 replied to bonebabe's response:
Those are bmd scores... here is the correct info. I am new to this so...-2.1 in spine lumbar, -2.2 hip, -27 in femoral neck (hip)..
I have been doing alot of reading and your comment about riding seems to be correct. but I know it builds muscle aorund the hip and lower spine just based on the motion required to ride Ennglish style.

Mostly I am upset that the doctors response to my results was to call me, read the results, refused to discuss it, said simply take the medicine. Really....seemed a bit callous. Am going to look into doing more walking and hiking although I already do somewhere between 3-6 hours a week anyway (it's something to do since I am not working).

bonebabe replied to julieg32's response:
You have osteoporosis. You may have other risk factors for fracture too. Some people have osteoporosis and never fracture and many many people have osteopenia and do fracture. It's all about your risks - T score is only one.