Skip to content
Just diagnosed
csgnyc posted:
Help. Someone I'm close to was diagnosed today with severe osteoporosis. She's almost 51, very small-boned, has been an alcoholic but has been sober for 2 years, may have been somewhat malnourshed in recent years on account of the alcohol and/or stressed, but this doesn't seem to have been too bad.

She's freaking out and inconsolable. She's particularly upset because she is also in pain from degenerative disc disease, and as a result questions whether she can ever exercise or move about appropriately. She sees this as a death sentence -- she'll never be functional, and one small auto accident (she lives in NYC) could be the end of her.

I'm new to this illness. I see from some quick web research that better nutrition, exercise, and medication help the condition, but I'd like to be able to give her some concrete information regarding treatment and manageability. She's especially distraught because she considers herself to be too young for this illness.

Thanks for any thoughts.

bonebabe responded:
Osteoporosis in a person as young as she is doesn't carry the grisks of fracture as that in an older person. There's certainly reason to be cautious but encouraged.

Her alcoholism did play a big part in her thinning bones as did her lack of calcium. It may very well be that she never built up her potential maximum bone mass due to the nutrition factor, consequently her bones may have always been thin.

At 51, has she gone through menopause? Technically speaking no diagnosis is given to premenopausal women, but I suspect she's either peri or postmenopausal. If she's still having even spotty periods, she can expect her bone density to get even a little lower as her body stops producing estrogen.