Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

We will be discontinuing this community as of April 1, 2014. We value and appreciate your participation in this community and hope that you will continue to post your questions in the WebMD Cancer Community.

Facebook Chemotherapy Group
eag20 posted:
I am a graduate student at the University of West Florida's Department of Communication Arts and would like to invite you to participate in a research study focusing on computer-mediated communication and chemotherapy. This study will assess the communication patterns involved in support group participation by gathering data through a private Facebook group, Chemo Chat. You may participate if you are currently undergoing chemotherapy. Please do not participate if you are no longer undergoing chemotherapy.

As a participant, you will be asked to communicate within the Facebook group, Chemo Chat. By reading the communication on the wall within this group, I can establish to what extent the group might affect patient-to-patient interactions. You are encouraged to log on and communicate with other group members at least once per week and are not limited to any particular subject while communicating.

Using Chemo Chat as a Facebook community is the least costly method of research within the chemotherapy community, and allows me to quickly assess conversations and retrieve data. It also provides me the opportunity to add a level of confidentiality by keeping the group closed, or private. This means that the only users who can view any of the group content are the Chemo Chat members.