Skip to content
Severe pain three years after acdf
pacdom posted:
I am a physician assistant/acupuncturist/teacher. I fell at work four years ago, sustaining a head injury, C6 spinous process fracture and C6 disc protrusion. I was rushed to the ER. The short story is that no x-ray was taken of my neck...just my head due to the severe laceration over my left eye. I had immediate pain on the right side around c5-6. My left wrist, shoulder and both knees were also injured. Unfortunately, this was a worker's comp situation and xrays were not approved until 6 months after the injury and were misread. The fracture was later diagnosed by a physician giving me an epidural injection. Believe me, "Oh my God, your neck is broken", is not what you want to hear during that, or any procedure. I continued to work and "man" up, because that is what you do in my profession (even if you're a woman). The pain in my neck continued to get worse with eventual pain and parasthesias down my left arm to the 4th and 5th fingers. I dropped a loaded syringe one day at work; fortunately, it landed in my shin and not the patient. After that, I decided to have surgery. I had already consulted an ortho spine surgeon and a neurosurgeon...because of the fracture, I decided to go with the ortho guy, which could have been my first mistake in the whole fiasco. Anyway, I woke up from surgery with the original pain gone and a new and impressively severe pain on the right at the level of C7-T1.....like someone has a meathook in there and is pulling with all their might....My family was at my side when I woke up and the first thing I said was, "something is wrong!" My surgeon did not take my complaints seriously(another long story). One other neurosurgeon said I now need a foraminectomy, but later changed his mind after a negative emg, another neuro said if it was between me killing myself and surgery, I could twist his arm to do another fusion at the level below my current one. A third neurosurgeon review