Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Fentanyl replacement?
smartin9 posted:
Does anyone know of a medication that is an equal replacement for fentanyl patches 25 mcg? I've been using this for 3 years and it doesn't seem to be helping very well with the pain like it was and part of that is probably because I live in a hot climate and I am going to be outside even more in the future. I'm not wanting something that is going to cause me to go into withdrawal though (a med w/ a different structure than an opiod) but I want something that will continue to help with the pain. Thank you.

teresakitty2 responded:
Hi smartin9, You are going through the normal progression of tolerance to opiate medication despite whether it is hot or not. Tolerance builds up after a period of time and requires increasing meds or changing to another type. The dosage can be increased to either 37 mcg (12mcg + 25 mcg) or 50 mcg. You are still on a relatively low dose of Fentanyl now and have room to go up if that is what you choose. Do you have and short acting break through meds to help when you have a lot of pain? If not, ask your doctor about adding those to help in addition to your long-acting Fentanyl when your pain is at its worst. If you really want to change, there are other opiate drugs available in equivalent dosages that you can discuss with your physician and pharmacist. Teresa

cweinbl responded: