Skip to content
Fentanyl & Constipation
Taximan283 posted:
Hello All,

I've been using the Fentanyl patch for almost 4 weeks now. I'm also using Roxicodone for BT pain. However, I've used Oxy meds before and after a while they usually stimulate my colon. But ever since I started using this combination I'm having the worst constipation I've ever had. And I'm really not a stranger to using narcotic meds for pain. I've been using them since 2002.

The question is whether or not the Fentanyl patch is known for causing severe constipation, and if so, what are the rest of you doing about it? In the past my doc has told me to use the Fleets enema and I've always had good results with it. But with these Fentanyl patches, even the Fleets isn't working. Does anyone have any advice?

teresakitty2 responded:
Hello taximan283,

Unfortunately, constipation can be a side effect from Fentanyl or any other narcotic type medication. Using any type of laxative on a regular basis can promote dependency. You might try increasing your fluids and fiber with metamucil or another fiber type product to help bowel motility. Just be sure to increase your fluid intake along with that as well. One common problem is that some people increase their fiber, but forget to increase their fluids and then the constipation became worse instead of better.

Another thing you can use is a stool softener such as colace that also helps in a very gentle way. Both of these medications can be purchased over the counter. Teresa

cybil53 responded:
HiTaximan,