Skip to content
Includes Expert Content
Dr. Maine: ADHD, metabolism, and medications
An_223407 posted:
Dr. Maine, I am a chronic pain patient (Degenerative Disc Disease in neck) who also happens to have adult ADHD. My metabolism is very fast and I am petite (5'0", 88 lbs). For my size, it seems that I often require more pain medication than I should. I've been being treated for my condition since 2004. For the last 6 years, I was taking Lortab 10s, going from 60 a month to 90 a month before being put on Percocet 10s (90) and Oxycontin (20 mg) 1-2 times a day. With most all pain medications, the only way I know it's working is whether or not my pain is relieved. I've never gotten any kind of mental effects (thank God!) If I don't get relief and were to take an extra one (after having had to take 2 already), it might be too much and I'd know that because I'd start throwing up, not because my head was getting "foggy" or I got real sleepy. I was just wondering if my fast metabolism might actually have anything to do with me metabolizing medications faster than most people? I know that if I have any kind of alcoholic beverage, I can get completely snockered from even half of a drink ( very seldom drink at all so don't have a tolerance), but if I wait 30 minutes, I will be completely sober, as if I had just rapidly burned it all off. With pain medications, I don't feel it "kicking in", my pain simply goes away or gets better but the relief usually only lasts half as long as it should. From what I've read about drug metabolism, is it possible that a hyperactive person with a fast metabolism simply burns medications as fast as they burn calories and food? I know I have tolerance after being treated for 6 years but wouldn't my metabolism have as much to do with it as having some tolerance to pain meds?

David Maine, MD responded: