Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Can someone give me advice? I'm desperate, and in pain!
juliebray25 posted:
Hi, my name is Julie and I'm 29yrs old. It's my first time on this site and I had no idea where to post my question, since the name of this group had "Pain Management" in a title, I figrued it would be a good place to start.

I've been experiencing pain in my wrists for about 2 yrs now, it's not constant it comes and goes. But lately, it seems everytime it comes, it get worse and today it is the worst it's even been. I have been a waitress for almost 10 yrs, and a bartender for over 6 yrs now. I use my wrists a lot at work, wether it's to carry heavy trays of food, or open many many many beer bottles in 1 night. I always associated my pain to my work. But now, I've been unemployed for over 6 months, and just got my worst pain attack yet. The pain is unbearable, there is no sewlling or bruising, but I can'r apply any pressure on my palm, or make a tight fist. My hand is VERY weak, I can't even light a lighter, and I feel a fatigue pain running up my arm almost to my shoulder, all sprouting from my wrist. This time, a new symptom started, a very intense burning sensation, like my hand and wrist are on fire. The pain feel like its coming from everything, joints, muscles, nerves, even the skin... I gets to the point sometimes where i start crying cause the pain si that intense. I dont have a family doctor and since im unemployed, I can't really afford a visit to the ER.

It's a pain you just can't ignore, it's very intense and the burning just makes it too much for me to handle, I really do not know what could be causing this or what to do. I tried ice, heat, stretchings, pills, braces.... nothing works. Then in a week or so, it will all disappear and I may not get it back for a month. Then one day I wake up and sore again... I've never experiences anything like this.