Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
chronic retractable pain
Anon_234564 posted:
I have been diagnosed with herniated/bulging discs throughout my cervical and lumbar spine. I also have sciatica and arthritis of the knees, ankles, fingers, wrists. I do pain mangement just hitting the worst part. The shots really helped the lumbar spine but there is no relief for the cervical spine. I have been told that the herniated discs in my cervical spine (C-3 through C-7) are not surgical friendly. Since I have severe arthritis and bony spurs and herniated discs surgery could be detrimental rather than helpful.

Is there any treatment out there besides living on pain killers (which I can't handle). I will try almost anything. I was told acupuncture may relieve it for a bit but is not a long term fix and do not see a chiropractor.
FirstPrevious12NextLast

davedsel57 responded:
Hello.

I've been managing moderate to severe chronic pain for over 30 years. I am allergic to almost all prescription pain medications or they do not work for me. I rely more on our hot tub, sleep number bed and a good recliner for pain relief.

It may be a matter of accepting your condition as being permanent. Believe me, I understand how difficult this is but you can do it. Keep doing your research, keep moving as much as possible, and keep a positive attitude.
Click on my user name or avatar picture to read my story. Blessings, Dave

annette030 responded:
Before I had cervical spinal surgery, I used a home traction set up. The doctor told me how much weight to use, and the traction bag held water and was marked so I would get the proper amount of weight. I found using this on an over the door frame was very helpful for pain management. I used about 10 pounds of weight for about 20 minutes several times a day. I was working back then and could not take opiates and do my job.