Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
CELEXA
it_is_what_it_is posted:
has any one heard of this being given for pain. dose any one have any experience with it.

davedsel57 responded:
Celexa is an anti-depressant. There are several anti-depressants being used now for chronic pain and this is one. I have no personal experience with Celexa, but did try Cymbalta for chronic pain and it did not work for me.

Has your doctor prescribed this medication for you to try for chronic pain? If so, please let us know how it is working for you.
Click on my user name or avatar picture to read my story.

Blessings,

Dave

it_is_what_it_is replied to davedsel57's response:
hi Dave i am seeing a new doctor and he wants me to try celexa instead of tramadol. i don't like taking medication. however i might give it a try i am so tired of fighting the pain all the time. so i was wondering if any one out there had used it. thanks for your input, i did not know antidepressants were being used for pain. ( how dose that work?)

annette030 replied to it_is_what_it_is's response:
Tramadol is specifically for pain and works on the opioid receptors of your central nervous system, like the opiates do.

Celexa is an antidepressant and also may be useful for pain, as it helps your body retain serotonin, a neurotransmitter that mediates both mood and pain signals, so it may work for both pain and depression. Or it may not. Antidepressants do not work to help control my chronic pain, but they do work for some other people.

My personal opinion is if the tramadol works, why change it? But if it doesn't work at all, why not try something else?

Take care, Annette

it_is_what_it_is replied to annette030's response: