Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Is Chronic Pain Disabling You?
Caprice_WebMD_Staff posted:
October is National Disabilities Month.

There is often a lot of talk here about being disabled and/or applying for Disability.

Are you considered disabled or do you think of yourself as disabled? How does that impact how you feel about yourself? Has it been difficult to accept the need for tools to aid you regarding your disability? Which was the hardest to accept?

If you are disabled are you still working?

Does your city/town accommodate the disabled pretty well with their sidewalks, accesses to stores, etc.? Or is there room for improvement?

We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.
~Joseph Campbell

davedsel57 responded:
Many people in this Pain Management Community, as well as the other WebMD Communities I am active in, know my story. I have been managing moderate to severe chronic pain for over 30 years. In May 2008 my spinal conditions had worsened and three doctors told me I would probably never work again. In June of 2008 I contracted an SSD attorney and was approved in early August 2008. I always thought I was approved so quickly because of my medical records or good attorney, but have recently found out that the SSA had a trial program that year to simply approve 1% of the applications without even reviewing them. I may or may not have been part of that 1%, but I am extremely thankful I was approved so quickly.