Skip to content
Can you die from a broken leg?
JustinPurdy2 posted:
Three days ago on New Years Day I Fractured my tibia and fibula. They Put a splint on me and sent me home within 2 hours. I dont have an appointment to see an Orthapedic Surgeon until friday. Two more days from now. My question is this. Is there ANY way you can die from an untreated leg fracture. There is no broken skin so that would make it a closed fracture ...I think. Im no doctor! Haha. Im just nervous of not getting this taken care of. Ive never had any kind of broken bone or surgery before so I dont know what to expect or what to do.

Take the Poll

HYPOCHONDRIAC?????
  • MORE THAN DEFFINITLY
  • DEFFINITLY
  • UNSURE
  • NOT REALLY
  • NOT ONE BIT
vote
View Poll Results
FirstPrevious12NextLast

_swank_ responded:
I suppose it's possible to get a fat embolism from a fracture that can travel to your lung. But that is not likely to happen unless it's a very serious injury. Serious injuries will land you immediately in surgery. Since they put a splint on your leg already then you really don't have to worry about that. You HAVE been treated. The orthopedic surgeon probably won't do much other than put a fiberglass cast on your leg. Or he may just leave you in the splint. Just stay off it for now. You're not going to die.

An_242485 responded:
This sounds like what happen to my grandson. You can google Ryan Smith Edmond Ok. All we know is the M.E. cause of death was a broken leg.

annette030 responded:
It sounds like they did the normal thing for an ER for a closed fracture of a tib/fib. I assume they did an Xray, and told you to keep it elevated, use ice on and off, etc.