Skip to content
Having Partial Seizures after Stopping Flexeril (Part 1)
Anon_160307 posted:
I have been managing chronic pain for over 12 yrs now and I felt like lately, my pain has been coming more and more under control along with finally successfully managing severe constipation with a stool softner along with a 8 oz glass of unsweetened prune juice nightly. I am on 50 mcg/hr Fentanyl Transdermal and I am allowed four 10 mg oxycodone IR pills for breakthrough pain. Haven't had to use all four yet and most days I only need 2 1/2 but it is SO NICE to have leverage should I need it when increasing my activity level.

About 3 months ago, I tapered my dose of Flexeril from three 10 mg tabs a day to two as I was getting severe dizzy spells and tremors from it. Once I tapered, the tremors went away but I was still getting dizzy spells. I finally decided to stop Flexeril cold turkey about 3 weeks ago. Before completely stopping the med, I had been taking Flexeril for over 6 years daily and this year I realized I didn't need it anymore as my new stronger pain meds were covering my pain. When I stopped the Flexeril, I had uncomfortable withdrawal symptoms. Cold sweats (my body was cold but I was still sweating), chills, shaking at night. But after 2 weeks all of those symptoms went away.

Then last weekend, the seizures began. They only happen when I am very sleepy either from being up all day and it is late at night or during the day on the weekend when recovering from a long work week. Last weekend, I had a couple of seizures that were pretty mild such that I thought that I had a seizure, but I wasn't entirely sure it did.