Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
I am feeling the same difficult decission of getting off pain meds...
adyson39 posted:
I've been on them for 10 years now... I'm in the process of switching from fentinayl patch to methadone... I've been talking to my doc for a couple months about doing this. It's not because of "addiction" but taking pain meds scares me, how much more am I gonna have to keep increasing too. I was glad to hear that it doesn't affect the body dangerously, but then I hear from other people that I'm going to ruin my liver, and it eventually could shorten my life... what do we believe?? I just can't stand the withdrawl... how difficult is it to get a job taking this kind of medication? I'm gonna need to start working in a year or so when I get married. I guess I'm just worried how this is affecting my whole life. Sounds like I'm not alone either!

77grace responded:
Hi adyson,
Welcome ,I am sorry to hear that you are suffering so much and I can relate to the pain and meds!
I've never swithched from Fentinayl to Metadone but I can tell you that I have used Methadone for years successfully for my Pain I have Tumors that groe on the nerves on my spine ,scorliosos and a bubch of other stuff!
You did 'nt say what your medical problem is???I have found that if you just take it it a day at a time and try not to think so much about the Future,the meds,EffectsEtc.!!!Today is all we really have so try to take it easy on yourself!
Willpost more to you soon!I'm hurting and need to lay down !!
Bless you,77grace

cweinbl responded:
Adyson, it's an axiom that empirical research is more valued than people's comments in message boards, the kindly recommendation of friends and well-meaning, but poorly informed family members. It's like believing the magazines at the store checkout counter compared to Lancet, JAMA, Nature or National Geographic. Used as directed, you can literally use opioids for a lifetime and do no harm to your body.