Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
What This Commmunity Means To Me:
Anon_57995 posted:
Dear Friends,

I have been hanging around this community for a couple of years.

When I found you, I was housebound and frightened. I met others who were also in the same situation. You gave me hope.

When I had questions and found that my MD could not provide me with an answer that meant anything to me, there was always someone here to help. You gave me comfort.

When I was awake all night with pain, there has always been someone here to make me feel less alone. You gave me dignity,

When I have posted that I am having a tough time, there has always been someone who is here to support me through. You gave me friendship.

I have been fortunate to have made life-long friendships that have their beginnings on in this community.

No matter how alone I may feel, how miserable it can be to be taken out of "normal" life due to pain, surgery, messed-up sleep, I know that there will always be someone who understands.

Living with pain can be a lonely experience; this community has made this hell so-much less intolerable.

Thank you.

foreversore replied to ctbeth's response:
Hmmmm.....I too am a medical professional. My degree isn't as high as yours is Beth, but according to this person I don't want research to occur because without sick people there would be no medical jobs (I don't work anymore either). WELL my take on this is that this person has no clue. We go into this profession not to make money but because we ACTUALLY CARE ABOUT OUR FELLOW MAN! I LOVE to see patients feel better and one of the offices I worked in participated in clinical trials for new medications to help treat our patients. No matter what "cures" science comes up with there will always be a new disorder, condition, syndrome or disease. New bacteria and viruses are found all of the time (mutated versions of the old ones) and new "cures" must be found.