Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
II am an addict and have FM
Addictinpain posted:
Hello I am new to this sight and am having a hard time finding support..2 1/2 yrs ago my chronic pain started I began taking pain pills and within in 9 mths I became a full blown addict taking tons of pills mostly adderal and pain meds to get high...prior to that I am 43 years old and never took anything , drink or smoke...I then went into detox and an outpatient program and saw a pain doctor and was on flexeril(spelling ??) ibuprofen and celexa ...my outpatient program supported me and I saw doctors for my pain that new about my addiction... They would say FM but I thought my pain was tricking me and it was for pills...I then began to go to NA meetings and went to third doctor who again checked me and said FM and we are going to work on a plan with no narcotics (because I cannot use them for pain without abusing them...I tried to get a sponsor 4 times and reach out and all of them said because of my celexa and flexeril I am still using and one said the pain is in my head and that the only way to help me is to stop all pills even Tylenol so I did and by 3 weeks I was so sick of the nagging pain and went to doctor and we are working together but a few ladies said I am welcome at meetings but cannot share because I am still using my flexeril (never ever a used) and my celexa ...I feel so alone and depressed.. Sorry so long

Anon_57995 responded:
It is none of your NA friends business what your MD has prescribed for your pain!

The one who said that the pain is in your head: How the heck does SHE know what you feel? How dare she!

Your MDs are professionals. You are clearly willing to work on doing things the right way, and you deserve respect and support for this.

What gives these "ladies" the right to tell you that you are not welcome to meetings and/ or that you cannot share?