Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
Dealing with pain from and unknown disease
JPurd posted:
I'm new to this so I'm sorry if my post is too long. I just don't know what to do anymore.

I'm a 22 year old male and I've been in chronic pain since I was 15.
The pain is mostly in my thighs and lower back. It's hard to describe but I have these long sharp lines of pain in my thighs thats mixed in with this general pain that covers the area. My thighs feel very tense and constricted all of the time, which can be worse than the pain. This also causes me to curl my feet and tense up my legs together. I curl my wrists as well, I never do this intentionally.
I have other symptoms too; I get little muscle spasms throughout my body, they don't hurt but they are frequent and isolated. I also have mild psoriasis of the nails.
I've been on Norco for about 5 years now; I take 1 of them 4 times a day (10 mg of Hydrocodone and 325 mg of Acetaminophen). These help with the pain but they also help with the constricting of my thighs and legs, which is the worst part.
My plan has always been to take these painkillers until I can get a diagnosis from a doctor and get some treatment. After 7 years of going to different doctors they've always concluded that it most likely is some sort of autoimmune disease but really they have no idea. I recently finished seeing a doctor at the NYU Medical Hospital (who was even the teacher for some of the other doctors I've been to) and he just can't figure it out. So now I've given up on a diagnosis.
All of this has negatively affected my life in such a way that I can't get anything done anymore.