My Doctor is Afraid to Prescribe Narcotics!
TJ713 posted:
I am a male nurse and have been working hellish med/surg/telemetry floors in various hospitals for 13 years. Usually the only male on the unit, all of the other nurses often called me to help them lift or turn heavy patients.

Finally, 2 years ago, my back went out...a herniated disc in L5-S1. I though I knew what pain felt like before this, but I really hadn't had a clue! With an invisible sword impaled into my right buttock and an invisible fire in my right foot, all I could do is squeal in pain until surgery was done.

During my nursing career I had seen many control battles between other nurses and supposed "drug seeker" patients. I always left it up to the doctor to decide whether or not to order pain meds for those who claimed to hurt. If it was ordered and the patient asked for it, I gave it!

Now that I am suffering intensely with permanent nerve pain (sciatica), I went to see my pcp after 2 surgeries and multiple procedures. She is TERRIFIED to prescribe narcotics because the feds have cracked down on pain control, stripping doctors of their licenses and imprisoning some of them.

So I have started a petition on the White House website. Please sign it and maybe we can bring pain management back to hurting patients. The website is: https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/allow-physicians-prescribe-pain-medications-their-discretion-without-scrutiny-federal-government/P75db5z1

Take the Poll

Do you think doctors should be able to prescribe pain medications at their own discretion without being penalized by the federal government?
  • Yes
  • No
vote
View Poll Results

KellyOHara responded:
I don't know about the poll but....I am an RN who stopped working regularly due to a work related back injury, so I feel your pain. I'd suggest going to a reputable pain management practice, they're out there. Pain management is what they do, so they are not afraid to prescribe. Good Luck.
~Kelly