Skip to content
drug screening
djblynn posted:
I am new to pain management and they did a urine drug test. The test showed that I had taken cocaine and meth which I have never taken in my entire life! What could cause a false positive? I've been sick with an upper respiratory infection for several weeks and have been prescribed zpack, doxycycline, levaquin, cryoheptad, antipyrine and benzocaine eardrops, oral steroids, steroid injection, Flonase, asthma inhalers, advair discus, and am on trileptal, flexeril, and other meds for fibromyalgia & trigeminal neuralgia. Can any of these meds cause a false positive?

djblynn responded:
They sent the urine for further testing to the local hospital who sent it to a lab.

lorigibs40734 responded:
I'm very sorry about your predicament. There can be a false positive for those drugs if you take certain medications. Some antibiotics and over the counter meds can give a false positive.

Since they sent it to the hospital, who sent it to a lab, they'll probably figure out which meds gave the false positive. And they should be able to treat you at a pain management clinic.

Lori

djblynn replied to lorigibs40734's response:
Thanks for replying. I have been very upset about this because I have done nothing wrong. The lab will surely figure it out.

ctbeth responded:
Holy Cow!

The strengths and limitations of Urine Drug Screens need to be fully understood in order to perform the correct screen and also to correctly interpret the results.

All positive results on immunoassay are presumptive until confirmed using GC-MS (gas chromatography-mass spectrometry )

It would seem as if you had the quick and easy immunoassay test, which indicated some problems, presumably.

One major problem with immunoassays is a false-positive result.

Therefore, a more specific confirmatory test, such as GC-MS, is needed to confirm a positive finding with an immunoassay.