Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up
elbow pain
albodary posted:
I've had pain in my elbow for the last two years or so. The doctor has told me its "tennis elbow"… and oddly enough I don't even play tennis. I've seen the the orthopedic doctor about it a few times over the last 2 years and he's given me cortisone shots in it on 3-4 occassions. The first 3 helped but the last and most recent one did not help at all. I've also tried an elbow brace that he recommended for me but I can't tell that it helps. The last time I saw him he mentioned surgery as an option. I really don't want to have surgery does anybody know of any of other ways to get rid of "tennis elbow"? Thanks

lorigibs40734 responded:
Hi. The name can be misleading I suppose, as Tennis elbow is caused by repetition of the arm. They first diagnosed me with that back in 2006, when the pain first started. I worked as a data entry operator and was one of the fastest keyer's in my building. An EMG then confirmed carpal tunnel and a severely pinched ulnar nerve (cubital tunnel). And it all went downhill from there.

You might can try some stretching exercises for your arm. Has your MD suggested physical therapy? Also, heat or ice, which ever you prefer could also help. I use heat as anything cold makes my pain worse. I took an old tube sock and filled it with white rice, you can put it in the microwave for about a minute and wrap it around your arm. Works wonders.

Hope this helps you.

Lori

mattzpt responded:
Hi Albodary,