Skip to content
Sciatica concern
hayzlipgirl12 posted:
Hello. This is my first time in the community, although I have visited the site for answers to various different ailments over the past couple of years. Anyhow, my wonderful husband has quite a colorful history of severe back pain throughout different stages of his life. When I met him first in September of 2011, he had been through treatments of medications and all of that before and wasn't suffering from the pain at that time. Then last summer, he helped a family member of mine by moving her old washer out of the basement up two half-flights of stairs, by himself, with a dolly. Ever since that day he's had this terrible, constant back pain. I'd say he says it's in his lower back about 95% if the time. Sometimes, once in a blue moon, he complains of pain in his middle/upper back as well, and in the last 5 months or so he's been having pain shoot down either his left leg and buttock area, and sometimes he says's it's shooting in both. He's tried all kinds of prescription pain killers, opioids and others, all of which are a temporary mask for his pain. It comes right back after they wear off, and we're both exhausted at how many things we've tried for him and are finding no permanent result or relief. He plans to go back to his primary doctor soon to discuss other options. It's so hard for me to watch him suffer, and he doesn't sleep well because of it. I'm wondering if anyone out there who might have this same problem and pain could tell me what has worked for them? We're to the point where we're considering scheduling him for an MRI, but aren't sure entirely if we really need to consider that as an option yet. So I'm just looking for some advice and tips from someone who might suffer from this as well. Thanks!

ctbeth responded:
Hello hayzlipgirl12,

Kind-of interesting screen name,

You do mention your husband seeing his primary care MD. That's a good place to begin.