Skip to content
My WebMD Sign In, Sign Up

Announcements

You have a 1-Year-Old and endless questions?
Welcome! Join the group to learn, laugh and stay on track with your 1-year-old's growth and development.

OT What do you think?
sarahann1978 posted:
It's a little slow here so I thought I would ask a personal question. Is it rude to re-do a homemade gift?

My brother and SIL made me a decorative birthday calendar for the wall, it's basically a nice long (12") thin piece of wood with twelve wooden hearts on it with the months. You add dangling hearts under the month with the persons name and birthday. They gave it to me shortly after I graduated from college and they had the hearts painted with my college colors alternated.

Now 6 years later I'm married and DH went to a rival college with different colors, so when I added his families hearts I painted them his color. It recently got knocked off the wall and a couple of the hearts fell off so I need to re-glue it anyway and I'm thinking I would like to paint all of the hearts blue which was our main wedding color.

Is that rude though, do you think they will be offended when they come to visit and see that I re-did their gift?

Take the Poll

Is it rude to re-do a homemade gift?
  • Yes
  • No
vote
View Poll Results

ad1978 responded:
No, not rude at all. In fact, at first I misunderstood and thought you were asking if it was rude to REGIFT this...and even then I though that would be fine!! lol

lenono97 responded:
In this circumstance I don't think it would be rude at all. Sounds appropriate that a gift like this should "change with the times."

DDK2005 responded:
Actually I think its great that you're updating it - if I were them i would be happy that you liked my gift so much that you're making it your own. its been 6 years - go for it!!! Im sure they'll love it too!

jlynnpaine replied to DDK2005's response: